For 2017 registrations, all 1993 through 2014 model year gasoline-powered cars or light trucks (up to 8,500 lbs) must have a valid Georgia emission inspection. For 2018 registrations, the model years are 1994-2015.
An emission inspection must be completed prior to submitting a vehicle renewal to receive a registration decal. Visit www.cleanairforce.com for additional emission test information.
- Where to Go: Newer vehicles can be inspected at any emission inspection station. Look for an inspection station sign that reads "1996 or Newer Vehicles Welcome" or "All Vehicles Welcome." Vehicle models 1995 or older can only be inspected at stations marked "All Vehicles Welcome." For a list of certified testing locations, click here.
- Inspect Early: It's best to get your vehicle inspected four to six weeks before the registration renewal date (see When to Renew), in the event repairs need to be made. An emission inspection is valid for 12 months or for one registration renewal by the same owner.
- Providing Proof of Emission Inspection: The emission inspection station that completes testing is required to electronically submit the test results to the Georgia Department of Revenue motor vehicle database. If the emission information is not in the database electronically, submit the original emission certificate to the Gwinnett County tag office, along with the payment, in person or by mail.
If the Vehicle Does Not Pass the Emission Test
- It is the owner’s responsibility to renew the vehicle’s registration by the due date to avoid paying tax and/or tag penalties.
- A tag and/or decal cannot be issued if the vehicle did not pass the emission test.
- If the vehicle does not pass the emission test, the owner(s) should pay any ad valorem taxes due on the vehicle by the renewal due date to avoid paying a 10 percent ad valorem tax penalty.
- Please note that if ad valorem taxes are paid on time, but the tag and/or decal cannot be renewed by the due date because of a failed emission test, the state still assesses a tag penalty of $5.
- Effective July 1, 2015, a 30-day temporary registration may be issued for a vehicle that has failed an emission inspection; however, the vehicle must have liability insurance, and all other taxes, penalties or fees must be paid.
- Georgia’s Clean Air Force recommends having your vehicle inspected four to six weeks prior to the registration renewal date in the event repairs need to be made.
For more information on emission testing, visit www.cleanairforce.com.