From a Dealership

In most cases when you purchase a vehicle from a dealership, the dealer will submit the necessary documents to apply for your title. The title application must be processed prior to the registration being issued or at the same time the registration is issued.

After the title application has been processed, the dealer will send you a copy of the title receipt and you will need to visit a Gwinnett County tag office to register your vehicle.

If you have not received a copy of the title receipt and it has been at least 25 days since the date of your purchase, contact the dealer to determine the status of your title application.

If you need information on how to obtain a Georgia title, click here.

Note:  Under normal circumstances, the information provided below is required to register a vehicle. Other documentation may be required upon review of the paperwork.

You will need to bring the following items when visiting one of our offices:

  • Valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card. If a new tag is to be issued, the Georgia DL or ID card must reflect a Gwinnett County address. If it does not reflect a Gwinnett address, one of the following documents must be presented with the current Gwinnett address issued in the name of the registered owner and dated within the last year:
    • Utility bill
    • Lease/rental agreement
    • Bank statement
    • Closing papers
    • Voter registration card (must show residential address)


Effective July 1, 2015: If you purchased a brand new vehicle (i.e., one that has never been the subject of a sale at retail to the general public), you have the option of getting a two-year registration during your initial registration period for a $40 fee (standard plates only). Annual registration renewal applies thereafter. This is only for passenger cars designed to carry 10 passengers or less.

It is a misdemeanor to display a license plate or temporary operating permit not issued by a dealer, or printed and recorded in the Georgia Registration and Title Information System.

Any paperwork, license plates or renewal decals processed by the Gwinnett County tag office can only be returned to the registered owner of the vehicle or a family member with valid government-issued identification showing the same last name and/or same address as the registered owner.
 

Purchased from an Individual or Business

Without a lien

If you purchase a vehicle from an individual or business (other than a dealer) in a casual/private sale, you are required to apply for the Georgia title and registration within seven business days of the purchase date.

A registration can be issued along with the application for the Georgia title or after the application has been processed.

For information on how to obtain a Georgia title, click here.

Note: Under normal circumstances, the information provided below is required to register a vehicle. Other documentation may be required upon review of the paperwork.

When the seller has provided a title properly signed over to you bring the following items:

  • Valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card. If a new tag is to be issued, the Georgia DL or ID card must reflect a Gwinnett County address. If it does not reflect a Gwinnett address, one of the following documents must be presented with the current Gwinnett address issued in the name of the registered owner and dated within the last year:
    • Utility bill
    • Lease/rental agreement
    • Bank statement
    • Closing papers
    • Voter registration card (must show residential address)
  • Copy of the bill of sale from the seller dated within seven business days 
  • Original Certificate of Title
  • Current certificate of registration for tag transfer, if applicable
  • Valid Georgia Insurance
  • Current Georgia Emissions Control Certificate, if applicable
  • An original notarized power of attorney from any owner who will not be present at the time of registration


With a lien

If you purchased your vehicle from an individual or business and the Certificate of Title is in the possession of a bank or other financial institution, you must still apply for the Georgia title and registration within seven business days. If you are financing the vehicle, the lienholder normally will submit the necessary documents to apply for your title. After the title application has been processed, the lienholder will send you a copy of the title receipt and you will need to visit a Gwinnett County tag office to register your vehicle.

If you have purchased your vehicle from an individual or business and there is a lien involved and the bank or financial institution does not provide the title within the seven day period, then you will not be able to title or register the vehicle. In certain situations you may be able to obtain a temporary operating permit.

Note:  Under normal circumstances, the information provided below is required to register a vehicle. Other documentation may be required upon review of the paperwork.

When the Certificate of Title is in the possession of a bank or other financial institution bring the following items:

  • Valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card. If a new tag is to be issued, the Georgia DL or ID card must reflect a Gwinnett County address. If it does not reflect a Gwinnett address, one of the following documents must be presented with the current Gwinnett address issued in the name of the registered owner and dated within the last year:
    • Utility bill
    • Lease/rental agreement
    • Bank statement
    • Closing papers
    • Voter registration card (must show residential address)
  • Copy of the bill of sale from the seller dated within seven business days
  • Copy of seller’s registration
  • Valid Georgia Insurance
  • Current Georgia Emissions Control Certificate, if applicable
  • An original notarized power of attorney from any owner who will not be present at the time of registration
  • If the vehicle is leased, you must provide the original lease agreement that includes the names and addresses of the leasing company and the lessee(s)

Note: Salvage vehicles are not eligible for a Georgia title or registration until they have been rebuilt and passed inspection. For more information on salvage vehicles, visit the Georgia Department of Revenue website.

It is a misdemeanor to display a license plate or temporary operating permit not issued by a dealer, or printed and recorded in the Georgia Registration and Title Information System.

For information on how to obtain a Georgia driver’s license or Georgia identification card, visit the Department of Driver Services website.

Any paperwork, license plates or renewal decals processed by the Gwinnett County tag office can only be returned to the registered owner of the vehicle or a family member with valid government-issued identification showing the same last name and/or same address as the registered owner.

 

Updated 9/1/2016