A lapse in insurance occurs when a vehicle has not carried valid Georgia liability insurance coverage for a period of more than 10 days. Your insurance company reports the lapse to the DOR, and a notice of pending registration suspension is generated and mailed by the DOR. A lapse results in a $25 pending-suspension fee which must be paid within 30 days.
If the $25 pending-suspension fee is not paid by the due date, the registration is suspended by the DOR. To reinstate the registration, the vehicle must have valid Georgia insurance coverage, the $25 pending-suspension fee plus a $60 reinstatement fee must be paid, as well as any other registration fees, ad valorem taxes or penalties due. Any additional lapses in coverage and/or suspensions will result in additional fines and penalties including cancellation of the vehicle’s registration.
Click here for more information regarding suspension fees.
It is advised that you cancel your registration before you cancel your insurance policy to avoid any suspensions or fees. Ad valorem taxes must be current and there must not be any outstanding fees. Click here for ways to cancel your vehicle’s registration.
The registered owner of a vehicle may apply for a one-time waiver of the pending-suspension and/or the reinstatement fee if certain criteria are met. To apply for this waiver, the registered owner of the vehicle must complete an Affidavit for Application of Waiver of Motor Vehicle Insurance Lapse Fee. The affidavit can only be submitted if the vehicle has not been driven for one of the following reasons:
- It was sold/transferred or the lease was terminated.
- It was registered in another state.
- It was wrecked, salvaged or junked.
- It was repossessed or stolen.
- It was not operated because it was inoperable, being stored or used seasonally.
- The sole, registered owner of the vehicle was on active military duty stationed outside Georgia.
The dates entered on the affidavit must match the insurance coverage lapse dates.
If you feel you may qualify for a one-time waiver of the pending-suspension and/or the reinstatement fee, the Affidavit for Application of Waiver of Motor Vehicle Insurance Lapse Fee must be filled out in its entirety and can be submitted, along with a copy of your driver's license, in one of the following ways:
Mail the completed affidavit to Gwinnett County Tax Commissioner, PO Box 829, Lawrenceville, GA 30046-0829
Email the completed affidavit to Tag@gwinnettcounty.com.
Fax the completed affidavit to 678-377-4330.
Visit any Gwinnett County tag office.
If you have received one of these letters and would like more information, contact us at Tag@gwinnettcounty.com or 770-822-8818.