Not receiving a renewal notice does not relieve the registered owner from the obligation to renew the vehicle’s registration by the due date. Penalties will not be waived because the owner did not receive a renewal notice.

  • A Renewal Identification Number (RIN) is needed to renew online or by phone. If you do not have one, click here.
  • If you also need your tag renewal fee amount, click here.

Internet: Be first in line -- every time.

Renew your tag online using the RIN printed on the front of your renewal notice. 

Credit cards accepted online are American Express*, Discover, MasterCard and Visa. Note: The Georgia Department of Revenue charges a credit card convenience fee of 2.35% ($1 minimum fee) to use this service.

*Accepted online and by phone only.

A tag cannot be renewed online if the vehicle:

  • Does not have a valid Georgia insurance policy, which must be electronically transmitted to the state database by the insurance company
  • Requires an emission test and one has not been completed
  • Weighs over 8,500 pounds
  • Is covered by a Georgia Fleet insurance policy
  • Is covered by a Georgia self-insured insurance policy
  • Currently has a specialty license plate that requires supporting documentation in order to renew (e.g., military, certified firefighters and amateur radio plates)
  • Registered owner has a change of address

The vehicle registration must be renewed by the renewal date each year or tax and tag penalties are assessed.

Telephone

Renew by telephone using your RIN and calling the Georgia Department of Revenue at 1-877-496-0249. This service is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Payment can be made by credit card for up to four tag renewals with a maximum total of $1000. Credit cards accepted for telephone renewals are American Express*, Visa, Discover and MasterCard. Note: The Georgia Department of Revenue charges a credit card convenience fee of 2.35% ($1 minimum fee) to use this service.

*Accepted online and by phone only.

A tag cannot be renewed by phone if the vehicle:

  • Does not have a valid Georgia insurance policy, which must be electronically transmitted to the state database by the insurance company
  • Requires an emission test and one has not been completed
  • Weighs over 8,500 pounds
  • Is covered by a Georgia Fleet insurance policy
  • Is covered by a Georgia Self insured insurance policy
  • Currently has a specialty license plate that requires supporting documentation in order to renew the registration (ex. military, certified firefighters and amateur radio plates)
  • Registered owner has a change of address

The vehicle registration must be renewed by the renewal date each year or tax and tag penalties are assessed.

Mail

If renewing by mail, renewal payments should be mailed four weeks prior to the renewal date to allow time for processing. To ensure timely processing and to avoid penalties, carefully read the renewal notice and the enclosed insert for instructions and additional information. All renewal requirements must be met before the renewal can be processed. If a renewal is submitted without all the required information, it will be returned.

Payment methods include personal checks or money orders. Credit cards are no longer accepted through the mail.

An emission inspection, if applicable, must be completed prior to mailing in your renewal to receive a current year decal.

Mail renewal payments to:

Gwinnett County Tax Commissioner

PO Box 829

Lawrenceville, GA 30046

  • Make checks and money orders payable to "Gwinnett County Tax Commissioner."
  • Gwinnett County tag offices cannot accept two-party checks.
  • If paying by check, the pre-printed last name and Gwinnett County address on the check must match the last name and Gwinnett County address of the registered owner of the vehicle.
    • Important Note: If you pay with a check, keep in mind that checks are processed, deposited and debited from your account very quickly, usually the next business day.  Before you write a check, make sure your account has enough money to cover it.
    • If your check is dishonored by the bank, a service fee will be assessed in accordance with state law and federal guidelines. In providing a check as payment, you authorize electronic representment if your check should return unpaid. Also, you authorize service charges and processing fees, as determined by law, to be debited from the same account via paper draft or electronic funds transfer.
  • Starter or counter checks are accepted but must have the bank routing and account number pre-printed/encoded on the check.

Mailed-in renewal payments must be postmarked by the United States Postal Service on or before the renewal date or tax and tag penalties will apply. If the renewal is received without proper payment or required documents, the renewal will be returned and the due date cannot be extended. Tax and tag penalties will apply.

If you did not receive a renewal notice and would like to renew via mail, request a renewal notice.

In Person

Visit a Gwinnett County tag office.

Payment methods include cash, personal checks, money orders, MasterCard, Visa and Discover. There is a $5 minimum for all credit and debit charges at the tag offices.

  • Make checks and money orders payable to "Gwinnett County Tax Commissioner."
  • Gwinnett County tag offices cannot accept two-party checks.
  • If paying by check, the pre-printed last name and Gwinnett address on the check must match the last name and Gwinnett address of the registered owner.
  • If the registered owner presents a check for payment, and the check does not include a pre-printed name and address, the registered owner must present a valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia ID card with the current Gwinnett address.
  • Starter or counter checks are accepted but must have the bank routing and account number pre-printed/encoded on the check.
  • If paying by credit card, the card holder's last name or address must match the registered owner's last name or address. If the credit card presented is not the registered owner's card, the card holder must be present with a valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia ID card.
  • If paying by debit card, the card holder must be present with a valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia ID card.

The vehicle registration must be renewed by the renewal date each year or tax and tag penalties are assessed.

Any paperwork, license plates or renewal decals processed by the Gwinnett County tag office can only be returned to the registered owner of the vehicle or a family member with valid government-issued identification showing the same last name and/or same address as the registered owner.

Providing Proof of Emission Inspection: The station that completes the emission testing of the vehicle must electronically submit the test results to the Georgia Department of Revenue's motor vehicle database. If you are purchasing a new tag or renewing your current tag and the emission information is not in the database, the original emission certificate must be submitted to the Gwinnett County tag office, along with the payment, in person or by mail.

 

Updated 2/22/2017


Related Videos