A homemade trailer is required to have a serial plate affixed to the tongue of the trailer before it can be registered and a license plate issued. Once affixed, it serves as the VIN. Both plates can be issued at one of the five Gwinnett tag offices. There is a $5 charge for the serial plate.
The owner must do the following:
- Get a serial plate and Form T-22C (Permission for County-Assigned Serial Plate for a Homemade Trailer) from a tag office.
- Permanently affix the serial plate to the trailer and have a Georgia Law Enforcement Officer inspect it. They will also complete Form T-22C. The Gwinnett County Police non-emergency number is 770-513-5700.
- Return to a tag office with the completed form to apply for the license plate. There is a $12 fee for a plate and ad valorem tax may be due.
A valid Georgia driver's license or ID card is required for issuance of both plates. Note: Georgia does not issue titles for homemade trailers or trailers weighing 2,000 lbs. or less.