Individuals have 30 calendar days after establishing residency to register their vehicles. The out-of-state vehicle registration is no longer valid after the 30-day period. If you do not register your vehicle within 30 days, penalties and fines are assessed.
Effective March 1, 2013, Georgia House Bill 386 removed the sales tax and the annual ad valorem tax on newly-purchased vehicles or vehicles moving in from out-of-state and replaced them with a new one-time title ad valorem tax (title tax) of 7% through 2019. This amount is due upon titling any motor vehicle. Click here to determine the amount due.
New Georgia residents are required to pay 50% of the title tax at the time the vehicle is initially registered; the remaining title tax balance is due within one year. New residents who are leasing their vehicles do not have the option of paying 50%; the entire cost of registration must be paid to register the vehicle.
- If you have a lienholder: The Georgia title will be mailed to the lienholder on file. A title will not be printed until the remaining title tax balance is paid in full.
- If you do not have a lienholder: The Georgia title will be mailed to the registered owner at the address on file. A title will not be printed until the remaining title tax balance is paid in full.
When your vehicle requires a Georgia title, you will be unable to register your vehicle and obtain a Georgia license plate (tag) or to transfer an existing Georgia license plate to the vehicle without a Georgia title already issued in your name or without applying for a title at the time of registration. Click here for a list of vehicle types required to be titled in Georgia.